A good day

Today.. Is a good day. I’m not saying that because something happened today that miraculously changed my outlook of life, or anything big. Life is just good. Last night, 1:00 am, all my roommates were in bed, and I was left alone in our livable, $995-a-semester living room. I wasn’t on my laptop or phone, but was all by myself. Just sinking back into the couch, I sat there.. and I felt serene.. it was beautifully brilliant. Those are the moments when I can clearly be. I can sit there and think or not (it doesn’t matter). And if my thoughts turn towards stresses I’ve worried about earlier, I can coherently figure things out. Silence is beautiful. It heals.

This reminds me of a few quotes I just used in an ENG 101 paper recently:

“Men go abroad to wonder at the heights of mountains, at the huge waves of the sea, at the long courses of the rivers, at the vast compass of the ocean, at the circular motions of the stars, and they pass by themselves without wondering.”

–  Saint Augustine

“We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence… We need silence to be able to touch souls.”

-Mother Thereasa

<http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/stars.html&gt;.

One thought on “A good day

Leave a Reply

